## MINUTES OF THE MG CAR CLUB (AUCKLAND CENTRE) INC. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

# HELD AT THE COMMERCE CLUB OF AUCKLAND, 27-33 OHINERAU STREET, REMUERA 8:30PM, WEDNESDAY 31st AUGUST 2016

#### **PRESENT**

President Sue Martin and 74 members.

#### **APOLOGIES**

Dave & Carole Walker, Alan & Tricia Wallace, Geoff & Vicki Broadhead, Gordon & Jan Dearlove, Delwyn & Neville Lucas, Ross Wales, Ian Grant, Maria Thorn, Stuart Thompson & Jennie Hawkins, Robert & Lynne Douglas, Julie Innes, Pauline McCowan, Helen Hartwell, John & Maxine Borchard. 'That Apologies be Accepted'; Moved John Campbell, Seconded Ernie Martin - CARRIED.

#### MINUTES SILENCE

President Sue Martin asked for a Minute's silence in remembrance of the following Members who have recently passed away. Mary Clark, Susan Heath, Peter Johnson, Tony Southwick, Paul Booth.

#### **MINUTES OF PREVIOUS AGM**

Proposed: That the Minutes of the 2015 AGM, having been circulated prior to the Meeting, be taken as read and that they are a true and accurate record of the Meeting – Moved: Paul Walbran, Seconded: Alan Thorn. Carried.

There were no matters arising from the minutes of the previous AGM.

#### **ANNUAL REPORTS**

The President's Report was read by Sue Martin.

The Club Captain's report was read by Darryl Bretherton.

Proposed: That the Presidents Report and Club Captains Report both be Received and Accepted. – Moved: Andrew Walbran, Seconded: Zena Lowther, - CARRIED.

Other Reports from; Bay of Plenty, Waikato, MGC Register, MGF/TF Register, Pre56 MG Register, Having been Circulated,

Moved: Lionel Brackley, Seconded Kim Walker, 'These Reports be Received'. - CARRIED.

#### TREASURER'S REPORT

Proposed: That the Treasurers Report and Audited Financial Statements as circulated be taken as read and adopted –

Moved: Colin Upchurch, Seconded: Ernie Martin, - CARRIED.

### **ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Retiring President Sue Martin expressed her appreciation and thanks to the members of the outgoing Committee for their work during the past year and a special thank you to Alan and Maria Thorn who were not seeking re-election.

President; There being two nominations received for the position of President from Norman Harvey and Andrew Walbran, a Secret Ballot was conducted.

Returning Officer Appointed; Simon Lowther, Scrutineer Appointed Tony Simmons. As the result of the Ballot Norman Harvey was declared President for the ensuing year.

There being only one nomination received for each of the following Officer positions, Each nominee was declared duly elected.

Vice President: Peter Crawford
Secretary: Sue Martin
Treasurer: Colin Upchurch
Club Captain: Darryl Bretherton

#### **ELECTION OF COMMITTEE**

Four nominations were received for the Committee; each nominee was declared duly elected.

Committee: John Campbell,

Dawn Judge Andrew Walbran Paul Walbran

#### **ELECTION TO LIFE MEMBERSHIP**

The Committee's Resolution of recommendation for Life Membership was put to the meeting. Proposed: That Life Membership of the MG Car Club Auckland Centre Inc. be conferred upon Ray Hughes, Tony Simmons and Ernie Martin.

Moved: N Harvey Seconded: P Walbran CARRIED.

#### **APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR**

Retiring President Sue Martin thanked Brian McPhail of Hart McPhail Ltd for his service as Auditor. Treasurer Colin Upchurch advised Hart McPhail Ltd is prepared to continue in the role of Auditor. Moved Hart McPhail Ltd be re-appointed as Auditor – Proposed: Mike McCowan. Seconded, Zena Lowther, CARRIED.

#### **GENERAL BUSINESS**

There was no general business.

### **PRESENTATION OF AWARDS**

2016 MG National Rally Trophy – 1st = Place Daniel Richardson. (Presented by Paul Walbran).

Winners of the Committee Trophies;

The Adrian Robinson Memorial Trophy – Jennie Walbran

The Wilkin Open Circuit Racing Cup – Grant Kern

The Cammick Trophy – Annette Piggin

The Kevin Masterton Clubman Trophy – Ian & Jill Forbes

The Renton Murray Hard Luck Trophy – Tony & Maureen Barbarich

The Heather Spurle Plate – Tim de Wit

The Walbran Wooden Spoon - Rob Ellis

There being no further business the Meeting closed at 9.45pm.